Loading... Please wait...

Profiles of Faith: Our Lady of Sorrows

Posted on


Feast day:

September 15



About Our Lady of Sorrows:

Celebration of Our Lady of Sorrows began in 1244 by the founders of the Servite Order. This helped guide their meditation and devotion the sorrows of Mary.

Our Lady of Sorrow is the title given to the Blessed Virgin Mary for the suffering she endured. There are seven sorrows that we honor:

  1. Prophecy of Simeon
  2. The Flight into Egypt
  3. The loss of the Child Jesus for three days
  4. Mary watches as Jesus is laid in the tomb.
  5. Mary receives the Body of Jesus down from the Cross
  6. Mary watched the Crucifixion and death of Jesus
  7. Mary meets Jesus on the way to Calvary

Through her compassion for her Son’s sufferings, she shows her motherly love and unity with His suffering. Our Lady of Sorrow is usually depicted in black with her heart pierced by seven swords, one for each chief sorrow.

Shop our Lady of Sorrows Items: